Shawn’s comic reviews for 3/7/17

March 14, 2017 Hey!! Kids Comics, Reviews
Action Comics #975

We review 3 comic titles this week, all given 8 out of 10 ratings, which should translate to ‘These are all books worth picking up’.  Let’s start out with Boom Studios newest title…

GRASS KINGS #1

written by Matt Kindt  art by Tyler Jenkins

Grass Kings #1

Every week seems to bring us one of these really promising first issues. If the title stays as good as the debut, it’ll be great. If it goes off the rails, there will be sadness. We live in hope, one issue at a time. Highly recommended for fans of Briggs Land, Low, and The Monkeys Paw.

8 out of 10 Grahams

 

 

 

NANCY DREW HARDY BOYS #1 from Dynamite Entertainment
Written by Anthony Del Col   Art by Werther Del’Edera

Nancy Drew Hardy Boys #1

If you read any Hardy Boys and/or Nancy Drew stuff in your formative years, you’ll probably love this debut issue. Taking place in a universe that includes the Bobbsey Twins and Tom Swift, this series has a whole lot of potential. Recommended for those who always wanted Veronica Mars to investigate a nefarious murder at the Peach Pit After Dark.

8 out of 10 Grahams

 

 

 

 

ACTION COMICS #975 from DC Comics

Written by Dan Jurgens & Paul Dini   Art by Doug Mahnke

It’s just big damn comic book fun, is all.

Chock full o’ splash pages and a big reveal makes for some all-that-and-a-bag-of-chips ’90s style nerd joy.

Also, somebody needs to cut Alan Moore a cheque. Again.

8 out of 10 Grahams

 

Comments

comments